About Shalloway

(Central NL)

About Shalloway FPN

A Family Practice Network, or FPN, provides a mechanism through which a physician group can address common practice and patient needs, have a collective voice on issues facing family practice, and address local population health needs, in coordination with the Regional Health Authority (RHA). The FPN structure is a physician-led, non-profit organization.

The Shalloway FPN was formed early in 2018 and represents participating family physicians in Central Newfoundland. A shalloway is a type of vessel, used originally by the French and then by the English; it is the “smaller boat that helps the larger ones ferry their catch to shore”. The reference is symbolic to the FPN, in that it provides individual family physicians, with one united voice in the pursuit of improved patient care.



Championing quality primary health care, physician wellness, and family medicine in Central NL, by uniting and amplifying the voice of Family Physicians through engagement and education.


Empowering family physicians for healthier communities.


Our Guiding Value Statements

  • We value Family Medicine as the foundation of health care.
  • We value community, collaboration, diversity, and patient advocacy.
  • We value physician wellness, professional development, and collegiality.
  • We value innovation and challenging the status quo.
  • We exhibit compassion and empathy.
  • We govern with transparency, dignity, respect, and open communication.
  • We value partnerships with our RHA, patients, and communities to support local solutions in improving the health of our residents.


  • Healthy Ecosystem
    • Develop a health ecosystem through recruitment & retention, physician wellness, member engagement and communications.
  • Patient Access to Health Care Services
    • Advocate for and be a part of solutions to improve patient access to primary healthcare and speciality services.


Board Of Directors 2023/2024 

June 2023 – May 2024

  • Dr. Dawn Turner, Chair
  • Dr. Carm Casey, Vice-Chair
  • Dr. Desmond Whalen, Treasurer
  • Dr. Hany Henein
  • Dr. Rafik Shehata
  • Dr. Maureen Gibbons
  • Dr. Sara Hicks
  • Dr. Madan Mariappan
  • Dr. Abby Robbins


  • Dr. Karin Ishak, Resident